Win There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly with Child’sPlay books

October sees the 40 year anniversary of Child’sPlay’s much-loved The Old Lady who Swallowed a Fly. To celebrate the anniversary of this classic book, the lovely folk at Child’sPlay would like to share the love and give you a chance to win your own Old Lady. We have 5 prizes of the brand new 40th anniversary edition book to give away. Look at it, isn’t it beautiful?

20131002-100209.jpg

But that’s not all…! Because of my love of all things library based, you can also win a copy for your nominated school or nursery library! So that’s TEN sparkling new copies up for grabs. 5 winners will each receive a book for themselves and one for their chosen school library or classroom. Just add a comment below to win.

This is a book that means a lot to me. I have fond memories of my dad reading this story to me in a sing song voice, getting faster and faster through the repeated sections and then becoming slow and mournful at the end of the verse. I can clearly remember the excitement and the joy, nodding my head along and trying to join in and catch up with him as he sped through all the animals. I remember the anticipation of the end, trying to hold in the squeal of glee. Most importantly, I remember it as being fun! Fun that we shared together, our secret way of singing the story that always ended in fits of giggles and choruses of ‘again, again’.

The Old Lady who Swallowed a Fly is a well-loved classic and this new anniversary edition is destined to become a must have for a whole new generation of children.
For your chance to win, write a quick comment below. It could just say ‘Hello, me please!’ or you could share your memory of The Old Lady, or the name of your favourite Child’sPlay book.
5 winners will be randomly selected using the traditional ‘names pulled out of a hat’ method. Entry is open to all UK residents. Open until midnight Sunday 6th October. Winners will be announced here and on Twitter on Monday 7th.
Good luck!

Double your chances to win! Head over to ReaditDaddy’s for another chance to win.

Huge thanks to the gorgeous folk at Child’sPlay for giving me the chance to help celebrate The Old Lady’s 40th.

UPDATE
Woooo hoooo! I can happily reveal the winners of the comp.

Congratulations to:
Rhona
Helen Dineen
Helen Moulder
Rebecca Martland
Zoe

Please get in touch with me by email carmen.agate@gmail.com or twitter @carmenhaselup and we’ll talk prizes!

Commiserations to those who didn’t get pulled from the hat (technically a biscuit barrel) but thanks for taking the time to enter.

22 thoughts on “Win There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly with Child’sPlay books

Add yours

  1. I loved this book as a child and my memory, like yours, is of the book being a lot of fun to read and share.
    I have often sung the rhyme to my daughter and this book is still on my wishlist. I can’t believe it is forty years old! Happy Birthday Old Lady (she’s dead of course!).

      1. or we can share the extra with a kitten (her fosterer) or an amazing young girl who likes to help with animals x

  2. I, too, have fond memories of this book. Mainly, its size and shape. I remember it seeming really large and special because it was square. I can also visualize the bright, flat colours used. But, more than anything, my lasting impression is one of joy at the use of holes! Don’t think I’d seen anything like it! Fabulous book.

  3. Loved this as a child and would love to share with the next generation, both my two and my daughter’s preschool. Thanks for running the giveaway!

  4. not used a blog before, think i may have got it wrong!!!! ment to say a lot of animals in the book so i know of a wonderful young girl who has helped me in my foster care of a little kitten for many weeks now.
    she wouldn’t ever swallow the fly as she would be to worried about looking after it. she will make a fantastic vet someday x look forward to all her future help x

  5. My children loved this book & now my mindees do too. I have a 2yo with additional needs who sits looking at the board book, exploring the holes and tapping each animal to be named. A classic!

  6. I don’t remember having this book myself as a child, but I bought it in board book form when my eldest was a baby and it’s been very well loved. Also found an ENORMOUS copy in a charity shop recently which is great fun. If I won I’d give both copies away because we already have two! 🙂

  7. My nan used to read me and my cousin this book every Saturday, such fab memories and then I read it to my children and now I read it using the puppet at my work, fab book! Love it

  8. Woooo hoooo! I can happily reveal the winners of the comp.

    Congratulations to:
    Rhona
    Helen Dineen
    Helen Moulder
    Rebecca Martland
    Zoe

    Please get in touch with me by email carmen.agate@gmail.com or twitter @carmenhaselup and we’ll talk prizes!

    Commiserations to those who didn’t get pulled from the hat (technically a biscuit barrel) but thanks for taking the time to enter.

    1. Ahhhh. Sorry you missed the competition. But you could always have a try at ReaditDaddy’s comp? That goes on til the end of the month. Or buy a copy from the ChildsPlay website.

  9. Thank you so much for our book. The pre-school have it on display with a note inside. My son (3yrs) absolutely adores our copy. We’ve only had it 3 days and we could both recite it from cover to cover already.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

