Reading the Rainbow – my summer reading challenge

30 Jul

This week I’m taking Mollie to the library to sign up to the Summer Reading Challenge and then we’ll have a booky picnic in the park and read each other stories. And I’m really looking forward to it! Last summer Mollie and I had a very booky summer holiday and this one is heading in the same direction. I guess it’s no surprise that books manage to infiltrate every corner of our lives. And of our house. Which leads me nicely to my summer book challenge.

My house is overflowing with books. I know that won’t come as a shock to any of you. I have a lot of The Rainbow Library books here for a summer holidays patch up and reshuffle, a (large) heap of review books I haven’t caught up with, all of Mollie’s books and all of my books. And somehow I still manage to keep buying more! You can actually hear the house creaking and shifting under the weight of all this paper. This beautiful, dream-smelling, transporting paper. But something has got to give. It’s the books or the house. And if I didn’t have my house where would I put my books??

So my challenge this summer is to release a book a day.
Gulp!

As well as all the boxes of books for The Rainbow Library, I have my own Rainbow Library in my house. It is full of actual grown up books (yes… I do read grown up books too! A lot of them)

20140730-082451.jpg
And I have my beautiful book nook on my landing.

20140730-095522.jpg
And what’s left of my Christmas book tree and the three rows of children’s books by my bed. And… And… And…
And then Mollie’s Room. Which is basically a library disguised as a bedroom.

I’ve been following the #bookaday tweets and thinking about all the amazing books I have stashed away that I don’t really look at enough. It made me realise that my books are a little bit neglected. I have a lot of unread books that have been gathering dust and overtaken by newer books in my reading list. It’s time to get up close and personal with my books again.

So my challenge is two-fold; to explore my bookshelves and read some of the books that have been hidden at the back of the queue, and to reduce the volume by releasing a book every day. I’m going to read through my rainbow, starting at red and choosing one book from each colour in turn. I’m going to read some of the books that have been smiling down at me, patiently unread, for a very long time. And I’m going to be Ruthless. I will give up on books that don’t grab me. I will give books away. I will cull. (But I will do it nicely while stroking them and telling them they are going to live on a farm.)

The ultimate plan is to get to know my books again and to give them a bit of an overhaul, hopefully making a bit of space. I’m not deluded enough to think that there will be more outgoing books than incoming. But at least I’ll be easing the floorboards a little.

Follow the fun with #readingmyrainbow

I hope that this will lead to some book chats. I do love book chats! So I’m going to start it off by asking which of these red books I should read first. What’s your recommendation?

20140730-100247.jpg

One Response to “Reading the Rainbow – my summer reading challenge”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Signed Margaret Atwood giveaway – Reading my rainbow | Rhino Reads - July 30, 2014

    […] Today I challenged myself to spend the summer holidays sorting out my teetering piles of books; getting reacquainted with the ones at the back and trying to have a bit of a (gentle) cull by releasing a book a day. […]

Leave a Reply

