Signed Margaret Atwood giveaway – Reading my rainbow

Today I challenged myself to spend the summer holidays sorting out my teetering piles of books; getting reacquainted with the ones at the back and trying to have a bit of a (gentle) cull by releasing a book a day.

It hasn’t entirely worked yet, as hunting through the piles has just made me realise that I’ve lent books out that haven’t come back. Where is Morrison’s Beloved? Donoghue’s Slammerkin? These are books that I really do *need* to replace. So I’ve technically added books today. But, whatever.

I’m kicking off my summer reading challenge in style by giving away a signed first edition hardback copy of Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake. It is a bit damaged- it fell foul of some over-zealous watering of a nearby pot plant and has some water staining on the bottom of the pages. You can see it in the picture here and it goes through the whole book. But it’s just a bit of staining and won’t stop you reading, enjoying or stroking the book. But worth bearing in mind if you think you’re getting your hands on something worth a few quid – it isn’t.

20140730-184301.jpg

20140730-184311.jpg
I’m giving it away because I just didn’t get on with it. I love Atwood’s earlier work but her more recent dystopian stuff has lost me. I am reading through my rainbow, one book from each colour, starting with my red copy of The Robber Bride so it feels fitting that my first book to go is Oryx.

Want it? Just post a comment below. Tweet a link to this blogpost to get an extra ticket with your name on in the hat (please comment again on here to say you’ve tweeted so I know to give you an extra entry)
I’ll draw a name from the hat on Sunday night so get your entries in before then.

Sorry but I’m going to have to restrict this one to UK only – it’s heavy!

2 thoughts on “Signed Margaret Atwood giveaway – Reading my rainbow

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

