World Book Day celebrations

5 Mar

So now that exciting announcement is off my chest and I’ve done a little happy dance, let’s get down to World Book Day business.

World BookDay isn’t all about dressing up as your favourite book character, or for us parents, desperately trying to cope with a last minute costume change. It is about celebrating books and fostering and encouraging reading for pleasure.

So for WBD this year I am:

Buying some books
What a hardship!!
I have ordered some books from my wishlist via Hive.co.uk. A brilliant website that supports indie bookshops and doesn’t rip off publishers and authors. My books will be delivered for free and a percentage of the money from my order will go to my nominated independent bookshop. Hurrah for hive!

Gifting some books
Mollie will get her WBD voucher today from school and she will be so excited by the idea of choosing her book. But in the meantime, this awaits her…

20150305-105110.jpg
And for those of you who are zooming in to try and see through the paper (I know who you are)…

20150305-105248.jpg
Mollie is inhaling books at the moment. She has read a Claude book a night this week and has exhausted her current supplies. I want to encourage her love for reading so here’s the next few nights sorted.

Donating to book charities
Take a #bookselfie and text Read98£2 to 70070 for Readwell, a charity gifting quality books to hospitals and getting them into the hands of ill children. Then nominate 3 mates to do it.
Here’s mine:

20150305-105909.jpg

Or how about watching a book den being built from the ground up? Head over to @playbythebook on twitter and watch her transform her kitchen into an enormous book den, all for BookAid. Donate here to support Zoe’s efforts and cheer her on. BookAid increases access to books to support literacy, education and development in sub-Saharan Africa, and they really do deserve your support.
Zoe’s doing a grand job so far:

20150305-110214.jpg

Celebrating books
For the rest of today I’m going to be racing through my review piles and my bookshelves, posting pictures on twitter and writing reviews of books that I love and that I think children will love. Have a look through… maybe you will see something just right for that World Book Day voucher?

Reading books!
Because that’s what it’s all about!
Happy World Book Day, folks! Enjoy!

One Response to “World Book Day celebrations”

  1. Zoe March 5, 2015 at 9:25 pm #

    Thanks for spreading the word about my shenanigans today 🙂

Leave a Reply

